‘The Horse Dancer’ by Jojo Moyes Review

It’s been a while since I’ve written a book review and to be honest it’s taken me a while to finish this book, for many reasons. Overall, I have enjoyed the book but at times I got bored and a little distracted which made me lose interest.

The Horse Dancer

The story is based on two stories at first that gradually become one, one being about a 14 year old girl living in London with her grandad who loves horses and spends all her free time training and riding her horse Boo. The other story is focused on Natasha a soon to be divorced lawyer who’s life gets turned upside down.

What I liked most about this book was the storyline, it had an interesting plot which some interesting turns of events. It’s hard to describe the genre of book as it has a mixture of different themes throughout the book such as:

  • Romance
  • family
  • sadness/grief
  • animals

It doesn’t focus solely on one theme so is quite interesting. I also liked the fact it was about horses as I like horses and gained quite a bit of knowledge on them from reading the book such as a form of horse performance called dressage. I also enjoyed the fact it was quite an emotionally gripping story and as I got more and more into it the less I wanted to put it down, however it did take me longer than usual to get hooked onto the story line

However, the change of view of each paragraph did become a bit confusing and the change of tense also added to that as the paragraphs didn’t quite flow together smoothly; which I find easier to read. Some chapters also felt unnecessary and not essential for the story line which made parts a little boring.

Overall, I would rate the book a 3.5 out of 5, and probably won’t re-read it.

Q: What book are you reading at the moment?

Love,

Jess

Published by

jessxclare

I'm 23 years old, I live in London and I love makeup, music, books and much more! I aspire to travel and adore animals.

Leave a comment